After5

New week, new menu, new adventure

Posted on: January 11, 2009

For me, a new fiscal week starts on Sunday. I do all my grocery shopping then, and I start executing on the weekly menu. Last week, I experimented with Indian cuisine. This week I will sample the recipes from The Silver Spoon. I’ve had this book for about two years, and I used maybe 5 recipes out of it. The sheer volume of the book is so intimidating; there are 1200+ pages, and therefore tons of recipes to choose from. I was able to narrow it down to a few for sampling this week, and I will post daily updates on how the meals turn out.

So I’ve planned the menu for the week and made a shopping list according to it. I’ve noticed that when I do that, I spend less on groceries. I also try to buy only organic food, and I am convinced that people would spend about the same or less on food if they bought organic because you are limited to buying mostly fresh food which needs to be prepared. I know you can still find organic hot-pocket type food (I love picking on hot pockets since they seem like such a culinary laziness and insult. And I can only imagine the unhealthy stuff in them). If one buys processed food, then one should not complain about the price of food. Yes, preparing food is time consuming, but so is waiting in the doctor’s office when your health goes to hell as you age. So I say eat fresh, so you can stay fresh.

Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

The Idiot by Dostoyevksy

Currently Listening

Pride & Prejudice Soundtrack
Evaristo Dall'Abaco
Chopin
Mozart

Archives

