After5

Musings on The Idiot et al.

Posted on: January 10, 2009

For the past few weeks I have been reading The Idiot. It is a slow progress, slower then I would like, but it is not Dostoyevsky’s fault. I am too tired to read by the time I sit down with the book. However, I am enjoying it so much; every word is right, every sentence is so well constructed. And I love the high drama of every scene. It reminds me of watching a play in a theatre. The characters are acting with intensity so that the person in the last row on the second balcony can feel the full impact of a particular scene. It also brings back memories of watching Russian movies. The same atmosphere of drama prevails in them as well.

I got Ana Karenina for New Year’s gift from my husband, and I plan to read it next. You could say I am on a Russian kick. I read Ana Karenina in high school, and for a 15 year-old girl the only scenes that mattered were the ones about Ana and Vronsky. Tolstoy’s thoughts about the serfdom and other sociopolitical problems in Russia were not of importance to a teenager. So this time I want to appreciate the book in its entirety and I look very much forward to reading it. Of course, I have to put away The Idiot first.

Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

The Idiot by Dostoyevksy

Currently Listening

Pride & Prejudice Soundtrack
Evaristo Dall'Abaco
Chopin
Mozart

Archives

