After5

At last today’s post

Posted on: January 6, 2009

Indian cooking update: Last night was a mild disaster in the kitchen. I continued my culinary adventure with Indian food, and without any prep the previous night, I tried to whip up three dishes in one hour. It took actually more like hour and a half, and one burnt dish. It took me another hour to clean up the mess I made after the dinner. I also got the place all smoky. Here are the gory details:

1. Mangalorean Chicken from Indian Food Made Easy, pg. 44. – very interesting and tasty dish. I made it with tofy instead of chicken and it was very good.

2. Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Lemon from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes, pg. 24 – another very tasty dish and very easy to make too. I love fried up mustard seeds, they have wonderful aroma.

3. Corn with Mustard Seeds from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes, pg. 32 – now this dish should have been wonderful except for the fact that I burnt the serrano chiles, or more accurately, I charred them completely. And I didn’t realize this until after I added the corn, so the corn turned charred too. I ended throwing that dish away, I could not save the corn.

Lessons learned: Preparation is the key. If you are a working mom, or a mom, or someone who wants to (or has to) whip up a meal really fast, then either prep for it the night before or boil some pasta and throw some tomatos on it. Last night I was frantically trying to chop up the onions, garlic, ginger, grind the spices, squeeze the lemons, cut tomatos, peel the sweet potatoes … I think you get the picture. So this evening I prepped everything for tomorrow’s dinner. Tomorrow evening I just mix and cook, that’s it. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

The Idiot by Dostoyevksy

Currently Listening

Pride & Prejudice Soundtrack
Evaristo Dall'Abaco
Chopin
Mozart

Archives

