After5

New Year’s Desserts

Posted on: December 31, 2008

It is New Year’s Eve and I have not yet made anything for dessert. In my family, it doesn’t matter what you make for entree or appetizer; if you don’t have a good dessert afterward, why bother with the rest. So my daughter and I will make two cakes. A lemon-meringue pie, which is actually really easy to make, and also Tres Leches (or Three Milks), which we love. Our cake making process is such that it allows a three year-old to stay busy in the kitchen while I make the cake. We start of with the best intentions of making something together. She scoops, I measure solids, she pours solids, I measure liquids, she pours liquids and then she gets to mix it all together. Then we decide that it is best if I give her a little bit of flour and she adds water and food colors to it. She loves to do that, and it allows me to finish the cake. Of course I could kick her out of the kitchen too, but I just love spending time with her, even though it means I have to mop the floor afterwards (and I really hate mopping floors, just ask my husband). I am looking forward to our baking afternoon.

Happy New Year! May it be peaceful, healthy and prosperous for all!

Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

The Idiot by Dostoyevksy

Currently Listening

Pride & Prejudice Soundtrack
Evaristo Dall'Abaco
Chopin
Mozart

Archives

