After5

Indian cooking update

Posted on: December 29, 2008

This year has seen me grow from a utilitarian cook to an apprentice sous-chef, which means that I’ve started to use spices other than salt and pepper and Italian seasoning and produce very yummy and healthy meals. Since I believe in cooking fresh foods as opposed to processed, I’ve started to experiment with Indian food. I’ve been going through recipes from two Indian cookbooks: 5 Spices, 50 Dishes and Indian Food Made Easy. I’ve discovered some really amazing dishes this way, and I also found out that I don’t like cumin seeds in my food. I like them ground and that’s it. Here are two more dishes I made recently which were really tasty.

Black-Eye Peas in a Spicy Goan Curry from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes, pg. 40. It is utterly delicious. I went easy on Cayenne pepper and added only a tiny pinch so it would not be too spicy.
Simple Spinach and Lentil Curry from Indian Food Made Easy, pg. 111, was really nice too. That was the dish where I discovered that I don’t like cumin seeds so the next time I make it, I will add ground cumin (half the measure of the seeds).

What I like the most about these two books is that the dishes don’t take that much to prepare and they taste great.

Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

The Idiot by Dostoyevksy

Currently Listening

Pride & Prejudice Soundtrack
Evaristo Dall'Abaco
Chopin
Mozart

Archives

